10 Songs That Send Me Back

Recently I’ve noticed my younger brother listening to a lot of music I used to listen to when I was his age and as a result I was taken on a trip down memory lane and decided to form this little list of some of my favourites that came to mind straight away!

I Write Sins Not Tragedies – Panic! at the Disco

I never actually stopped listening to P@TD to be perfectly honest, they’re still one of my favourite bands but as soon as I hear this song I feel like I’m back in school being angsty with my little emo fringe. I don’t think I will ever tire of that entire album.

Beating Heart Baby -Head Automatica

Literally the only Head Automatica song I’ve ever listened too but this is such a good song if you just want to jump around and dance your little heart out.

Cute Without The ‘E’ (Cut for the Team) – Taking Back Sunday 

I still listen to TBS’ album ‘Louder Now’ semi regularly however, I rarely ever listen to their earlier stuff and as a result I forgot about this song until recently. The angst is real with this one, and don’t even get me started on that great Fight Club music video.

Streetcar – Funeral for a Friend 

It’s another angsty one. I used to adore FAFF and I have this weird memory of my granny asking if my friend died when I was wearing one of their tshirts (bless her heart.) This would probably be a great breakup song even to this day.

All That I’ve Got – The Used 

I don’t have too much to say about this one other than it’s pretty great. I always remember the music video for this one, I was always impressed by a music video with a narrative.

The Suffering – Coheed and Cambria 

Another song which I started to listen to because I liked the music video. I still have this one on several playlists to this day. This song never fails to make me smile.

Ever So Shy – General Fiasco 

One of our very own local bands! This song is great for pre drinks or if you just want to get pumped up to dance. I remember my friends and I always exaggerating out accents when singing along to this.

Leave Before the Lights Come On – Artic Monkeys 

Artic Monkeys were one of the bands that inspired me to learn to play guitar and I remember begging my guitar teacher to teach me this. Still a great tune.

Sorry You’re Not a Winner – Enter Shikari

Enter Shikari are a great band in general who actually also make some great polical reflections with some of their music (which was probably lost on me when I was younger) I remember watching the music video for this and desperately wishing I’d been there for that living room concert.

Through the Glass – Stone Sour 

I remember being so excited when I first discovered Stone Sour because I had never seen Corey Taylor without his Slipknot mask as well as this song being the first time I’d ever heard him sing something this soft!

 

So basically what we’ve learned from this is I have never really grown out of my emo phase, I just look a little more mature whilst still mixing most of my old tunes into my current playlists. What songs remind you of being younger?

Leave a Reply

